أخبار

اختراق: دواء جديد يقتل الخلايا السرطانية دون آثار جانبية


عنصر نشط جديد يجبر الخلايا السرطانية على الانتحار

دواء جديد وثوري يقتل الخلايا السرطانية على وجه التحديد دون التأثير على الخلايا السليمة. في الاختبارات الأولية على الأشخاص الذين يعانون من أورام العقد الليمفاوية الخبيثة ، لم يظهر المرضى أي آثار جانبية بعد العلاج. أفاد فريق بحثي إنجليزي بهذا في دراسة حديثة.

حقق باحثو امبريال كوليدج لندن طفرة في أبحاث السرطان. نجح فريق لندن في ما حاول العلماء تجربته دون جدوى لأكثر من ثلاثين عامًا. لقد نجحوا في تطوير واختبار دواء لسرطان الدم العدواني الذي يقتل الخلايا السرطانية ولكنه يوفر الخلايا السليمة. وقد تم نشر نتائج الدراسة مؤخراً في المجلة المتخصصة "المجلة البريطانية لأمراض الدم".

نتائج مشجعة

يلخص المؤلف الرئيسي د. "نتائج هذه الدراسة التجريبية يجب تفسيرها بحذر في هذه المرحلة المبكرة ، لكنها مشجعة للغاية". هولغر عونر معا. حتى الآن ، تم اختبار الدواء فقط على ثلاثة مرضى يعانون من الورم النقوي المتعدد ، والمعروف أيضًا باسم ورم البلازما أو مرض كالر. غالبًا ما ينتشر هذا الشكل العدواني من سرطان الدم في عدة أماكن في نفس الوقت. العلاج صعب للغاية مع الطرق السابقة ، شرح الأطباء الإمبراطوريين.

صغير ولكنه واعد

في الدراسة السريرية الصغيرة التي أجراها فريق البحث الإنجليزي ، تم اختبار الدواء الجديد على ثلاثة مرضى. تمكن الباحثون من تقديم أول دليل سريري على أن الدواء يقتل خلايا الورم النخاعي على وجه التحديد في النخاع العظمي بينما يترك الأنسجة السليمة للمريض دون تغيير. يقول مدير الأبحاث البروفيسور جيدو فرانزوسو في بيان صحفي حول نتائج الدراسة: "تظهر نتائجنا أن هذا الدواء يمكن أن يعمل مع بعض المرضى الذين يعانون من هذا النوع العدواني من السرطان".

اقتل الخلايا السرطانية بدون آثار جانبية

وتابع البروفيسور: "هذا هو أول دليل سريري على أن دوائنا يستهدف الخلايا السرطانية على وجه التحديد في المرضى بينما لا تظهر أي علامات على السمية". يحدث المايلوما عادة عند كبار السن. هناك ما يقرب من 5،500 حالة من هذا النوع في المملكة المتحدة كل عام. لا يمكن علاج السرطان في معظم المرضى.

العلاجات السابقة غالبًا ما تكون غير ناجحة

يقول د. "باستخدام الطرق السابقة ، يمكننا في معظم الحالات إبقاء المرض تحت السيطرة لعدة سنوات ، ولكن في النهاية لا نملك دائمًا أي خيارات علاجية". هولغر عونر. حاولت صناعة الأدوية مرارًا وتكرارًا تطوير دواء لسرطان الدم على مدار الثلاثين عامًا الماضية ، لكنها لم تحقق نجاحًا كبيرًا على الرغم من الاستثمارات الضخمة. في كثير من الأحيان ، فشل الدواء بسبب آثار جانبية خطيرة غير مرغوب فيها.

إجبار الخلية السرطانية على الانتحار

حاول فريق البروفيسور فرانزوسو اتباع نهج جديد. استفاد العلماء من عملية طبيعية تعرف باسم موت الخلايا المبرمج. هذه آلية تدمير ذاتي داخل خلايا معينة. ومع ذلك ، طالما يرتبط بروتين يسمى GADD45b وإنزيم يسمى MKK7 ، يتم قمع إشارة الانتحار. هذا هو المكان الذي يأتي فيه العنصر النشط الجديد ويحجب الاتصال بين البروتين والإنزيم في الخلايا السرطانية. النتيجة: الخلية السرطانية تدمر نفسها.

لا تتأثر الخلايا السليمة

يلخص البروفيسور فرانزوسو قائلاً: "لقد طورنا دواءً يمكنه منع آلية الإشارة هذه في السرطان ، ولكن ليس في الخلايا الطبيعية". وقد ظهر ذلك أيضًا في الاختبارات المعملية على الفئران. على عكس الأدوية الموجودة ، لم يكن هناك سمية ولا آثار جانبية يمكن اكتشافها.

ضرب في اثنين من أصل ثلاثة مرضى

في التجارب السريرية البشرية ، أظهر الدواء آثارًا على اثنين من المرضى الثلاثة. بعد العلاج لمدة 28 يومًا ، تم تنشيط آليات انتحار الخلايا في الخلايا السرطانية في مريضين ويمكن إيقاف تطور المرض. ومع ذلك ، لم يكن للدواء أي تأثير على المريض الثالث. يشتبه الباحثون في وجود خلفية محددة وراثيا لعدم الفعالية.

متى يكون الدواء قابل للاستخدام؟

قال البروفيسور فرانزوسو: "نأمل أن نكون قادرين على إجراء دراسات أكبر في المستقبل لتحديد ما إذا كان يمكن استخدام الدواء في العيادة لصالح العديد من مرضى المايلوما ، ولكن العلاج الدوائي الجديد الفعال سيستغرق بضع سنوات أخرى". (ف ب)

معلومات المؤلف والمصدر


فيديو: فوائد الفيروسات هل سمعت بها من قبل (يوليو 2021).

News

Breakthrough: new drug kills cancer cells without side effects

Breakthrough: new drug kills cancer cells without side effects


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

New active ingredient forces cancer cells to commit suicide

A new and revolutionary drug specifically kills cancer cells without affecting healthy cells. In initial tests on people with malignant lymph node tumors, the patients showed no side effects after the treatment. An English research team reports this in a recent study.

Imperial College London researchers made a breakthrough in cancer research. The London team succeeded in what scientists had been trying unsuccessfully for over thirty years. They successfully developed and tested a drug for aggressive blood cancer that kills cancer cells but spares healthy cells. The study results were recently published in the specialist journal "The British Journal of Haematology".

Encouraging results

"The results of this pilot study must be interpreted with caution at such an early stage, but they are very encouraging," summarizes the lead author Dr. Holger Auner together. So far, the drug has only been tested on three patients who suffered from multiple myeloma, also known as plasmacytoma or Kahler disease. This aggressive form of blood cancer often breaks out in several places at the same time. The treatment is extremely difficult with previous methods, explain the Imperial doctors.

Small but promising

In the small clinical study conducted by the English research team, the new drug was tested on three patients. The researchers were able to provide the first clinical evidence that the drug specifically kills myeloma cells in the bone marrow while leaving the patient's healthy tissue untouched. "Our results show that this drug could work for some patients with this aggressive form of cancer," says research director Professor Guido Franzoso in a press release on the study results.

Kill cancer cells with no side effects

"This is the first clinical evidence that our drug specifically targets cancer cells in patients while showing no signs of toxicity," the professor continued. Myeloma typically occurs in older adults. There are approximately 5,500 cases of this type in the UK each year. The cancer cannot be cured in most patients.

Previous therapies are often unsuccessful

"With previous methods, we can in most cases keep the disease under control for several years, but in the end we almost always have no treatment options," says Dr. Holger Auner. The pharmaceutical industry has repeatedly tried to develop a blood cancer medication over the past 30 years, but has had little success despite huge investments. Often, the medication failed due to serious undesirable side effects.

Forcing the cancer cell to commit suicide

Professor Franzoso's team tried a new approach. The scientists took advantage of a natural process known as apoptosis. This is a self-destruct mechanism within certain cells. However, as long as a protein called GADD45b and an enzyme called MKK7 are linked, the suicide signal is suppressed. This is where the new active ingredient comes in and blocks the connection between the protein and the enzyme in the cancer cells. The result: the cancer cell destroys itself.

Healthy cells are not affected

"We have developed a drug that can block this signaling mechanism in cancer, but not in normal cells," summarizes Professor Franzoso. This has also been shown in laboratory tests in mice. In contrast to existing drugs, there was no toxicity and no detectable side effects.

Struck in two out of three patients

In human clinical trials, the drug has shown effects in two of the three patients. After the 28-day treatment, the cell suicide mechanisms in the cancer cells were activated in two patients and the progression of the disease could be stopped. However, the drug had no effect on the third patient. The researchers suspect a genetically determined background for the ineffectiveness.

When will the drug be usable?

"We hope to be able to conduct larger studies in the future to determine whether the drug can be used in the clinic for the benefit of multiple myeloma patients, but effective new drug treatment will take a few more years," said Professor Franzoso. (vb)

Author and source information


Video: A Look Ahead Cancer Immunotherapy Breakthroughs on the Horizon, with Jedd D. Wolchok (May 2022).