أمراض

الحدب - الأسباب والأعراض والعلاج


غالبًا ما يعاني الأشخاص المصابون بظهر مدور أو حدبة (حداب) من صعوبة في الحياة اليومية. لا يقتصر الانحناء الشديد للعمود الفقري على إثارة الألم الشديد وفقدان الحركة - فالمرضى المصابون بالسنام لا يزالون موصومين في المجتمع. لا تزال المصطلحات التقديرية مثل الأرملة أو سنام الساحرة شائعة بين العديد ، والتي بالإضافة إلى شكاوى الأمراض الجسدية تثير أيضًا الإجهاد النفسي. لذلك يجب أن تتناول هذه المقالة المرض على مستوى واقعي ، وتعمل على تثقيف وتوضيح طرق العلاج المناسبة.

تعريف

قد لا يكون واضحًا للجميع على الفور ، ولكن العمود الفقري البشري عرضة نسبيًا للانحرافات في وضعه المستقيم. ويرجع ذلك إلى الوقت القصير نسبيًا الذي كان لدى البشر في سياق التطور لتطوير مشيتهم المستقيمة. الأساس لضمان مشية تستقيم لا يزال الأداء الصحيح لعضلات العمود الفقري. آلية دعم حساسة للغاية ، لأنه إذا تم إضعاف العضلات في منطقة العمود الفقري بسبب عوامل مؤثرة معينة ، فلا يمكن تجنب انحناء العمود الفقري.

يشير الحداب الآن إلى مثل هذا الانحناء غير الطبيعي للعمود الفقري. بالتفصيل ، إنه تعبير قوي عن انحناء العمود الفقري الفسيولوجي في المنطقة الصدرية والقطنية مع انحناء خلفي (ظهراني). ونتيجة لذلك ، فإن شكل S الطبيعي للعمود الفقري غير متوازن بشكل كبير ، بحيث لا يكون الوضع المستقيم ممكنًا بدون إجراءات مضادة مستهدفة. هناك درجات مختلفة من شدة الحداب:

  • حداب وضعي - النوع الأكثر شيوعاً لحداب الكيفوسمات يتميز بقوام منحني "قليلاً". عادة ما يكون بسبب ضعف الموقف وعادة ما يكون من السهل نسبياً علاجه. يمكن أن يؤثر الحداب الوضعي على كل من الشباب وكبار السن.
  • حداب شيرمان (مرض شيرمان) - نوع أكثر تعقيدًا بكثير من الحداب ، يُعرف أيضًا باسم مرض شويرمان ، مما يؤدي إلى انحناء شديد في العمود الفقري. علاجها أكثر صعوبة من الحداب الوضعي.
  • حداب خلقي - يحدث هذا التحدب عادة نتيجة التشوهات الخلقية للعمود الفقري ، ومن ثم يظهر بالفعل في مرحلة الطفولة. العلاج في المراحل الأولى من المرض مهم جدًا هنا من أجل إضعاف المسار الإضافي للمرض قدر الإمكان.
  • حداب التغذية - التحدب ، الذي ينشأ عن سوء التغذية في مرحلة الطفولة ويعتمد على اضطرابات النمو المرتبطة بالمغذيات في العمود الفقري.
  • حداب ما بعد الصدمة - يتم التحدث عن حداب ما بعد الصدمة إذا كان الجزء الخلفي من الركبة مثنيًا بسبب الكسور الفقرية المرتبطة بالحوادث.

يمكن ملاحظة أن هناك العديد من أسباب الحدبة ، والتي تكون إما خلقية أو مكتسبة ويمكن علاجها بشكل أفضل أو أسوأ اعتمادًا على شدتها.

الأخطاء الوضعية الدائمة هي السبب الرئيسي

إن قول "عمل ملتوي ومتعرج" ليس صدفة. لأنه في الماضي كان العمل الجسدي الشديد ، إلى جانب الرفع المستمر للأحمال الثقيلة أو الوضع المنحني بشكل دائم ، أحد الأسباب الرئيسية لتطوير الحداب. في ذلك الوقت ، كان من المرجح أن يحدث هذا في الشيخوخة عندما أصبحت عواقب الحياة العملية واضحة في العمود الفقري البالية والمنحنية. في العصر الحديث ، أصبحت الكيفوسات شائعة بشكل متزايد حتى بين الأجيال الشابة.

إن الضرر الذي يلحق بالوضعية في مرحلة المراهقة في ازدياد فعلًا ويفضل بشكل خاص حداب الوضعية. في هذا السياق ، عادة ما تكون نقطة البداية لتطورها هي انخفاض في عضلات الجذع ، وهي المسؤولة بشكل رئيسي عن استقرار منتصف الجسم. وهذا بدوره يعزز التآكل المبكر للأقراص الفقرية والمفاصل الفقرية. ينتج عن ذلك ألمًا ، مما يؤدي إلى مزيد من الحماية أو الوضعية غير الصحيحة. دائرة مفرغة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى سنام في سن مبكرة دون إجراءات مضادة مبكرة.

بغض النظر عن التغيرات في متوسط ​​عمر المرضى الذين يعانون من حداب الوضعية ، تجدر الإشارة إلى أن نمط الحياة اليوم لا يزيد فقط من خطر الحدب لدى الشباب. بشكل أساسي ، تحتوي الحياة اليومية الحديثة على مواقف أكثر فأكثر للكبار والصغار ، مما يعزز الضعف العضلي في الجهاز الداعم من خلال الوضع غير الصحيح أو عدم الحركة وبالتالي يعزز حداب. الذي يتضمن

  • أنشطة مهنية جالسة (مثل عمل المكتب أو الكمبيوتر) ،
  • أنشطة ترفيهية جالسة (مثل ألعاب الكمبيوتر أو ألعاب وحدة التحكم) ،
  • توتر العضلات بسبب الإجهاد ،
  • حمولة الوزن الأمامية بسبب زيادة الوزن ،
  • وعادات الأكل غير الصحية (حداب التغذية).

المرض وحداب عرضي

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالحدب المرتبطة بالأمراض ، يجب أولاً ذكر اختلالات العمود الفقري المسببة وراثيا. غالبًا ما يرجع الحداب الخلقي إلى التطور الخاطئ للأجسام الفقرية ، على سبيل المثال في حالة ما يسمى بالفقرات نصفية أو إسفين أو كتلة. يمكن أن تكون أمراض الأعصاب الخلقية مثل الشلل الدماغي مسؤولة أيضًا عن حداب الأطفال.

في مرحلة الطفولة والمراهقة ، عادةً ما تأخذ الكيفوسات الخلقية مسارًا شديدًا بدون علاج مضاد مناسب. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن أن تظهر أشكال أخرى من الحداب بسهولة في هذا العمر ، حيث أن العمود الفقري للطفل لا يزال ينمو وبالتالي يتفاعل بشكل حساس بشكل خاص مع العوامل التخريبية.

على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن يؤدي سوء التغذية الواضح في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة إلى حداب التغذية. سوء التغذية ليس فقط نقص الغذاء ، ولكن أيضًا نقص المعروض من العمود الفقري بالعناصر الغذائية المهمة مثل فيتامين د أو الكالسيوم. في مرحلة المراهقة ، بالإضافة إلى الوضع السيئ ، تلعب الصور السريرية مثل الداء العظمي الغضروفي دورًا مهمًا أيضًا في تطوير الحدبة. يصف المرض اضطرابًا في تحويل الغضروف إلى كتلة العظام وهو السبب الأكثر شيوعًا لحدود شويرمان.

مرض العظام الآخر الذي يمكن أن يكون مسؤولاً عن التحدب هو هشاشة العظام. في سياق هذا المرض ، هناك انخفاض في كثافة العظام ، والتي يمكن أن تمتد أيضًا إلى أجسام الفقرات. إذا فقدت أجسام الفقرات كتلة العظام نتيجة لعمليات الانهيار ، فيمكن أن تنهار في النهاية تحت الوزن الذي تحمله الفقرات (ما يسمى بكسر التلبد). إذا تأثرت عدة فقرات ملقاة فوق بعضها البعض ، ينتج حداب. عادة ، يتجلى هشاشة العظام في الشيخوخة ، مما يجعل الحدبة المقابلة خاصة معاناة كبار السن.

يمكن أن تؤدي الأمراض الالتهابية والروماتيزمية المختلفة ، مثل التهاب الفقار اللاصق أو التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي ، إلى الإصابة بالحدب وتتسبب أيضًا في حدوث المرض بشكل أو بآخر. علاوة على ذلك

  • صدمة الحوادث
  • أورام
  • والانبثاث

في منطقة العمود الفقري العظمي لا يمكن استبعاده كسبب. عادة ما تسبب اضطرابات كبيرة في أجسام الفقرات أو تؤدي إلى انهيار العمود الفقري ، والتي بدورها تفضل التحدب.

الأعراض

بالطبع ، يبرز الحدبة أولاً بسبب انحناء العمود الفقري الملموس والمرئي. نتيجة لذلك ، غالبًا ما يشعر المرضى بالتشويه ويحاولون إخفاء حدابهم بطريقة انعكاسية عن طريق تجنيبهم ، مما لا يؤدي في كثير من الحالات إلى تفاقم الانحناء فحسب ، بل يشير أيضًا إلى معاناة المريض العقلية. إن فحص الغرباء ، وكذلك السلوك الغريب أحيانًا للغرباء تجاه المتضررين ، هو في كثير من الأحيان مصدر أقل من المشاكل النفسية لمرضى الحداب الذين يضطرون في كثير من الأحيان إلى مواجهة عدم اليقين الذاتي والمخاوف الاجتماعية والاكتئاب.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، هناك بالطبع أعراض جسدية أخرى ، مثل الألم الشديد الذي يسببه الظهر المستدير على المدى الطويل. من المتوقع أيضًا فرض قيود على الحركة ، والتي تتجلى على وجه الخصوص في انخفاض حرية حركة شفرات الكتف وفي هذا الصدد غالبًا ما تثير توترات عضلية غير سارة في منطقة عضلات الرقبة. بشكل عام ، يمكن ملاحظة الأعراض التالية في الحداب:

  • منحني بشكل واضح للخلف ،
  • مشاكل الموقف ،
  • الحركة المقيدة (خاصة في منطقة ريش الكتف) ،
  • التهاب العمود الفقري ،
  • ألم شديد بالظهر،
  • توتر العنق
  • صداع،
  • اضطرابات النوم ،
  • اضطرابات الحساسية ،
  • اضطرابات في وظائف الأعضاء (مثل القلب والرئتين) ،
  • الاكتئاب ،
  • مخاوف اجتماعية ،
  • تقليل تقدير الذات.

انتباه: في الحالات الشديدة بشكل خاص من الحداب ، يمكن أن يؤدي إزاحة الفقرات إلى تلف الحبل الشوكي أو جذور الأعصاب. الاضطرابات الحسية حتى شلل الأعصاب خطر حقيقي على المرضى!

التشخيص

عادة ما يكون تشخيص العمود الفقري ملحوظًا من وجهة نظر بصرية نظرًا للصورة النموذجية للعمود الفقري المقوس في الظهر ، ورقبة القرفصاء والكتفين الساقطة إلى الأمام. تتوفر طرق تصوير مختلفة لتأمين التشخيص وتقدير الأسباب المحتملة ، حيث يكون لفحص الأشعة السينية والتصوير المقطعي بالكمبيوتر والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي أهمية خاصة. يستخدم أخصائي جراحة العظام أيضًا أجهزة مختلفة ، مثل المنقلة ، والتي يمكن أن تحدد درجة فرط الحدب باستخدام ما يسمى زاوية كوب. يمكن أيضًا تحديد معايير الالتهاب وعوامل الروماتويد في عينات الدم في المختبر.

علاج نفسي

تعتمد التدابير العلاجية للظهور المدورة بقوة على العملية السببية. وهي مصممة للحفاظ على جودة حياة الشخص المعني لأطول فترة ممكنة ، لتقليل الألم ومنع الضرر الناتج عن ذلك. نظرًا لأن العمود الفقري ، من خلال اتصاله بالصدر ، يرتبط أيضًا ارتباطًا وثيقًا بميكانيكا الجهاز التنفسي ونظام القلب والأوعية الدموية ، يجب أيضًا اتخاذ تدابير لتثبيت وظائف القلب والرئة.

العلاج المحافظ

العلاج المحافظ هو حجر الزاوية في علاج الظهر المستدير. إنه في طليعة كل من استراتيجيات العلاج الطبي والتشغيلي ويجب أن يستمر في البيئة المنزلية أيضًا ، حيث يمكن فقط الحفاظ على جودة الحياة. يتكون نهج العلاج المحافظ من عدة مكونات من العلاج الطبيعي والمهني وكذلك جراحة العظام. في هذا الصدد ، يجب أن يساعد التدريب العضلي الخاص على تقوية العضلات الأساسية ومنع توتر العضلات المتجدد ، مما يساهم في تخفيف الألم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن التدريب الموجه للعضلات الخلفية والبطن والبطن يمكن أن يحسن الوضع. يوفر استخدام أجهزة التقويم المعدلة المزيد من الدعم في هذا السياق.

يقع تدريب التنفس العلاجي أيضًا في فئة تدابير العلاج المحافظ. من خلال تمارين التنفس المستهدفة ، يمكن تحسين آليات التنفس وتأمين وظائف الرئة. كما يمكن تصور التدريب على الاسترخاء المهني ، على سبيل المثال في شكل اليوغا أو التدريب الذاتي ، الذي يفيد مرة أخرى في استرخاء العضلات.

العلاجات المنزلية

يمكن أن يكون للمظهر البسيط للحداب أسباب تمكن المتضررين من علاج أنفسهم. على سبيل المثال ، يؤدي انخفاض السمنة إلى إجهاد إضافي على العمود الفقري. إن التحكم في مكان العمل فيما يتعلق بكراسي المكتب الصديقة للظهر ، أو تعديل الارتفاع المناسب للمكتب أو طريقة العمل الصديقة للظهر ، مما يجعل وضع الجلوس المستقيم هو الهدف ، يساهم أيضًا كثيرًا في تحسين الحدبة. عند التعامل مع الأجهزة التقنية مثل الهواتف الذكية والأجهزة اللوحية وأجهزة الكمبيوتر ووحدات تحكم الألعاب ، من المهم أيضًا التحقق من وضعية الجلوس بانتظام ، حيث يميل المرء إلى ثني الظهر بشكل روتيني عند استخدامه بسرعة نسبية. أخيرًا وليس آخرًا ، يجب أيضًا الانتباه إلى وضع الاستلقاء الجيد أثناء النوم. لهذا الغرض ، يوصى باستخدام مراتب ووسائد خاصة صديقة للظهر.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بنقص التمارين في الحياة اليومية ، فإن الإجراء المضاد الفعال الوحيد هو بالطبع المزيد من التمارين. يوصى بشدة بالنشاط البدني المنتظم للأشخاص المصابين بالحدب. في كثير من الأحيان هناك عروض خاصة مثل الجمباز المائي ، حيث يمكن التعامل مع شكاوى المريض بشكل أكثر كثافة.

العلاج الطبي

لقد نجحت مخالب الشيطان والسنفيتون والأرنيكا بشكل جيد في الماضي في العلاج الداعم لشكاوى الظهر. إذا كان هشاشة العظام هو السبب ، فقد أثبت الاستخدام الداعم لفوسفوريكوم ملح الكالسيوم Schüßler نفسه. يدعم هذا الملح استقلاب الكالسيوم الذي يشارك في تطور هشاشة العظام.

علاج طبي

في حالة الحداب ، يشمل النهج الطبي إعطاء مسكنات الألم والمرخيات. يساعد هذا الأخير على التخلص من توتر العضلات الموجود وبالتالي تقليل تفاقم الحدبة عن طريق الوضع اللطيف. كما تستخدم الأدوية المضادة للالتهابات (مثل الكورتيزون) لعلاج العمليات الالتهابية والأسباب الروماتيزمية للمرض. في حالة سوء التغذية ، يمكن تصور المكملات الغذائية مثل مكملات الكالسيوم أو فيتامين D3.

هام: تُستخدم مجموعات الأدوية المذكورة فقط في المعالجة الملطفة للحدود. حتى يومنا هذا ، لسوء الحظ ، لا يوجد دواء يمكن أن يعالج حداب نفسه.

العلاج الجراحي

إذا لم يظهر العلاج المحافظ والعقاقير (بعد الآن) النجاح المطلوب ، غالبًا ما يشار إلى الجراحة على العمود الفقري. الهدف هنا هو تثبيت الأجزاء المصابة من العمود الفقري وتصويبها ، وإذا لزم الأمر. لهذا الغرض ، يتم إدخال الأسلاك والألواح والدبابيس والمسامير في الفقرات باستخدام تقنيات مختلفة.

يوفر الطبيب المسؤول إشارة لعملية ضرورية ، لأن التدخلات على الظهر تحمل دائمًا خطرًا متزايدًا بسبب القرب المكاني من النخاع الشوكي ، وبالتالي لا ينبغي أن تتم بشكل طفيف.

الأمراض المرتبطة بالحدب: تشوهات الأجسام الفقرية ، والشلل الدماغي ، وأعراض نقص ، وهشاشة العظام ، وهشاشة العظام ، والتهاب الفقار اللاصق ، ومرض شويرمان ، والتهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي ، وأمراض الورم.

معلومات المؤلف والمصدر

يتوافق هذا النص مع مواصفات الأدبيات الطبية والمبادئ التوجيهية الطبية والدراسات الحالية وقد تم فحصها من قبل الأطباء.

ميريام آدم ، باربرا شندوولف لينش

تضخم:

  • الأكاديمية الأمريكية لجراحي العظام: حداب العمود الفقري (تم الوصول إليه: 16 يوليو 2019) ، orthoinfo.aaos.org
  • جمعية جراحة العظام للأطفال في أمريكا الشمالية (POSNA): حداب (الوصول: 16 يوليو 2019) ، orthokids.org
  • Merck and Co.، Inc.: Kyphose (تم الوصول إليه: 16 يوليو 2019) ، msdmanuals.com
  • Ruchholtz ، Steffen / Wirtz ، Dieter Christian: جراحة العظام وأساسيات جراحة الصدمات: دورة مكثفة لمزيد من التدريب ، Thieme ، الطبعة الثالثة ، 2019
  • Müller ، Markus / Elsen ، Achim / Eppinger ، Matthias: جراحة العظام والكسور: للدراسة والممارسة ، Vlgs- الطبية. خدمات المعلومات ، 2018
  • بوابة الصحة العامة في النمسا: التحدب و lordosis: ما هو؟ (تم الوصول: 16.07.2019) ، gesundheit.gv.at
  • جمعية أبحاث الجنف: Kyphose (الوصول: 16 يوليو 2019) ، srs.org

رموز التصنيف الدولي للأمراض لهذا المرض: رموز M40ICD هي ترميزات صالحة دوليًا للتشخيصات الطبية. يمكنك أن تجد نفسك على سبيل المثال في خطابات الطبيب أو على شهادات الإعاقة.


فيديو: -علاج الهربس الفموى وقرح الشفاه فى 24 ساعة الوقايه والعلاج الفعال (شهر نوفمبر 2021).

Diseases

Humps - causes, symptoms and treatment

Humps - causes, symptoms and treatment


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

People who have a rounded back or hump (kyphosis) often have a hard time in everyday life. Not only does the extreme curvature of the spine provoke severe pain and loss of movement - patients with a hump are still often stigmatized in society. Appreciative terms like widow's or witch's hump are still common among many, which in addition to the physical illness complaints also provokes mental stress. This article should therefore address the disease on a factual level, serve to educate and point out suitable treatment methods.

Definition

It may not be immediately apparent to everyone, but the human spine is relatively susceptible to deviations in its upright posture. This is due to the comparatively relatively short time that humans had in the course of evolution to develop their upright gait. The basis for ensuring upright gait is still the correct functioning of the spinal muscles. An extremely sensitive support mechanism, because if the muscles in the area of ​​the spine are weakened by certain influencing factors, a curvature of the spine posture can hardly be avoided.

Kyphosis now denotes such an unnatural curvature of the spine. In detail, it is a strong expression of the physiological spine curvature in the thoracic and lumbar region with a backward (dorsal) curvature. As a result, the natural S-shape of the spine is severely imbalanced, so that an upright posture is hardly possible without targeted countermeasures. There are different degrees of severity of kyphosis:

  • Postural kyphosis - The most common type of kyphosis is characterized by a "slightly" curved posture. It is usually caused by poor posture and is usually still relatively easy to treat. Postural kyphosis can affect both young and older people.
  • Scheuermann kyphosis (Scheuermann's disease) - A significantly more complicated variant of kyphosis, also known as Scheuermann's disease, which results in a very extreme curvature of the spine. It is much more difficult to treat than postural kyphosis.
  • Congenital kyphosis - This kyphosis is usually the result of congenital malformations of the spine and is therefore already pronounced in infancy. Treatment in the early stages of the disease is very important here in order to weaken the further course of the disease as much as possible.
  • Nutritional kyphosis - kyphosis, which arises from malnutrition in childhood and is based on nutrient-related growth disorders in the spine.
  • post-traumatic kyphosis - Post-traumatic kyphosis is spoken of if the back of the knee is bent due to accident-related vertebral fractures.

It can be seen that there are numerous causes of a hump, which are either congenital or acquired and can be treated better or worse depending on the severity.

Permanent postural errors as the main cause

The saying "work crooked and hunched" is no coincidence. Because in the past extreme physical work, combined with the constant lifting of heavy loads or a permanently bent posture, was one of the main reasons for the development of kyphosis. At the time, this was more likely to occur in old age when the consequences of working life became apparent in a badly worn and curved spine. In modern times, however, kyphoses have become increasingly common even among younger generations.

Damage to posture in adolescence is really on the rise and particularly favors postural kyphosis. In this context, the starting point for their development is usually a decline in the trunk muscles, which is mainly responsible for the stability of our mid-body. This in turn promotes premature wear of the intervertebral discs and vertebral joints. This results in pain, which leads to further protective or incorrect posture. A vicious circle that can lead to a hump at an early age without early countermeasures.

Regardless of the changes in the average age of patients with postural kyphosis, it should be mentioned that today's lifestyle does not only increase the risk of humping in young people. Basically, modern everyday life has more and more situations for old and young, which promote muscular weakness in the supporting apparatus through incorrect posture or lack of movement and thus promote kyphosis. Which includes

  • seated professional activities (e.g. office or computer work),
  • seated leisure activities (e.g. computer or console games),
  • Muscle tension due to stress,
  • forward weight load due to overweight,
  • and unhealthy eating habits (nutritional kyphosis).

Illness and accidental kyphosis

When it comes to disease-related kyphoses, genetically caused spinal misalignments must first be mentioned. The congenital kyphosis often has its origin in the wrong development of the vertebral bodies, for example in the case of so-called half, wedge or block vertebrae. Congenital nerve diseases such as cerebral palsy can also be responsible for kyphosis in infancy.

In childhood and adolescence, congenital kyphoses usually take a severe course without suitable counter-treatment. In addition, other forms of kyphosis can also easily manifest at this age, since the child's spine is still growing and therefore reacts particularly sensitively to disruptive factors.

For example, pronounced malnutrition in early childhood can lead to nutritional kyphosis. Malnutrition is not only food shortages, but also an undersupply of the spine with important nutrients such as vitamin D or calcium. In adolescence, in addition to poor posture, clinical pictures such as osteochondrosis also play an important role in the development of a hump. The disease describes a disorder in the conversion of cartilage to bone mass and is the most common cause of Scheuermann kyphosis.

Another bone disease that can be responsible for kyphosis is osteoporosis. In the course of this disease there is a decrease in bone density, which can also extend to the vertebral bodies. If the vertebral bodies lose bone mass as a result of the breakdown processes, they can ultimately collapse under the weight that the vertebrae have to carry (so-called sintering fracture). If several vertebrae lying on top of each other are affected, kyphosis results. Usually, the osteoporosis manifests itself in old age, which makes a corresponding humping especially a suffering of older people.

Various inflammatory and rheumatic diseases, such as ankylosing spondylitis or rheumatoid arthritis, can also lead to kyphosis and moreover cause a more or less pronounced course of the disease. Furthermore are

  • Accident trauma,
  • Tumors
  • and metastases

in the area of ​​the bony spine cannot be excluded as a cause. They usually cause significant instabilities in the vertebral bodies or trigger vertebral collapse, which in turn favors kyphosis.

Symptoms

A hump first of all, of course, stands out due to the visually perceptible, extreme curvature of the spine. As a result, patients often feel disfigured and try to hide their kyphosis in a reflexive manner by sparing them, which in many cases not only exacerbates the curvature, but also indicates the patient's mental suffering. The examination of outsiders, as well as the sometimes disparaging behavior of strangers towards those affected is an all too often underestimated source of psychological problems for kyphosis patients who very often have to struggle with self-uncertainty, social fears and depression.

In addition, there are of course other physical symptoms, such as the severe pain that a rounded back causes in the long term. Restrictions on movement are also to be expected, which are manifested in particular in the reduced freedom of movement of the shoulder blades and in this connection frequently provoke unpleasant muscle tension in the area of ​​the neck muscles. Overall, the following symptoms can be observed in kyphosis:

  • clearly curved back,
  • Posture problems,
  • Restricted movement (especially in the area of ​​the shoulder blades),
  • Vertebral inflammation,
  • severe back pain,
  • Neck tension
  • A headache,
  • Sleep disorders,
  • Sensitivity disorders,
  • Disorders in organ function (e.g. heart and lungs),
  • Depressions,
  • social fears,
  • reduced self-esteem.

Danger: In particularly severe cases of kyphosis, displacement of the vertebrae can damage the spinal cord or the nerve roots. Sensory disorders up to nerve paralysis are a real danger for patients!

Diagnosis

The diagnosis of the spine is usually noticeable from a visual point of view due to the typical image of a spine arched backwards, the squat neck and the shoulders falling forward. Various imaging methods are available for securing the diagnosis and estimating possible causes, with X-ray examination, computer tomography and magnetic resonance tomography being of particular importance. The treating orthopedist also uses various devices, such as protractors, which can determine the degree of hyperkyphosis using the so-called Cobb angle. Inflammation parameters and rheumatoid factors in blood samples can also be determined in the laboratory.

Therapy

The therapeutic measures for rounded backs are strongly based on the causal process. They are designed to maintain the quality of life of the person concerned as long as possible, to reduce pain and to prevent consequential damage. Since the spine, through its connection to the chest, is also closely related to the respiratory mechanics and the cardiovascular system, measures must also be taken to stabilize the heart and lung function.

Conservative therapy

Conservative therapy is the cornerstone of the treatment of the rounded back. It is at the forefront of both medicinal and operative treatment strategies and must be continued in the home environment as well, since only then can the quality of life be maintained. The conservative therapy approach consists of several components from physical and occupational therapy as well as orthopedics. In this regard, special muscle training should help to strengthen the core muscles and prevent renewed muscle tension, which contributes to pain relief. In addition, targeted training of the back, abdominal and core muscles can improve posture. The use of adapted orthoses provides further support in this context.

Therapeutic breathing training also falls into the category of conservative treatment measures. Through targeted breathing exercises, the breathing mechanics can be improved and lung function secured. Professional relaxation training is also conceivable, for example in the form of yoga or autogenic training, which again benefits the relaxation of the muscles.

Home remedies

The slight manifestation of kyphosis can have causes that those affected are able to remedy themselves. A reduction in obesity, for example, takes additional strain on the spine. The control of the workplace with regard to back-friendly office chairs, an appropriate height adjustment to the desk or a back-friendly working method, which makes an upright sitting position the goal, also contribute a lot to the improvement of the hump. When dealing with technical devices such as smartphones, tablets, computers and game consoles, it is also particularly important to regularly check the sitting posture, since you tend to bend your back routinely when using it relatively quickly. Last but not least, you should also pay attention to a good lying position during sleep. For this purpose, special back-friendly mattresses and pillows are recommended.

When it comes to a lack of exercise in everyday life, the only effective countermeasure is of course more exercise. Regular physical activity is highly recommended for people with kyphosis. Frequently there are special offers such as aqua gymnastics, where the patient's complaints can be dealt with more intensely.

Medicinal treatment

The medicinal plants devil's claw, comfrey and arnica have had good success in the past for the supportive treatment of back complaints. If osteoporosis is the cause, the supportive use of the Schüßler salt calcium phosphoricum has proven itself. This salt supports the calcium metabolism that is involved in the development of osteoporosis.

Medical therapy

In the case of kyphosis, the medicinal approach includes the administration of painkillers and relaxants. The latter help to release existing muscle tension and thus minimize the aggravation of the hump by gentle posture. Anti-inflammatory drugs (e.g. cortisone) are also used to treat inflammatory processes and rheumatic causes of the disease. In the event of malnutrition, dietary supplements such as calcium or vitamin D3 supplements are also conceivable.

Important: The drug groups mentioned are only used for the palliative treatment of kyphosis. To this day, unfortunately, there is no drug that can cure kyphosis itself.

Surgical therapy

If conservative and drug therapy do not (any longer) show the desired success, surgery on the spine is often indicated. The aim here is to stabilize, straighten and, if necessary, stiffen the affected parts of the spine. For this purpose, wires, plates, pins and screws are introduced into the vertebrae using various techniques.

The doctor in charge provides the indication for a necessary operation, because interventions on the back always carry an increased risk due to the spatial proximity to the spinal cord and should therefore not be carried out lightly.

Diseases in kyphosis: malformations of the vertebral bodies, cerebral palsy, deficiency symptoms, osteochondrosis, osteoporosis, ankylosing spondylitis, Scheuermann's disease, rheumatoid arthritis, tumor diseases. (Ma)

Author and source information

This text corresponds to the specifications of the medical literature, medical guidelines and current studies and has been checked by medical doctors.

Miriam Adam, Barbara Schindewolf-Lensch

Swell:

  • American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons: Kyphosis (Roundback) of the Spine (accessed: July 16, 2019), orthoinfo.aaos.org
  • Pediatric Orthopedic Society of North America (POSNA): Kyphosis (access: July 16, 2019), orthokids.org
  • Merck and Co., Inc .: Kyphose (accessed: July 16, 2019), msdmanuals.com
  • Ruchholtz, Steffen / Wirtz, Dieter Christian: Orthopedics and trauma surgery essentials: Intensive course for further training, Thieme, 3rd edition, 2019
  • Müller, Markus / Elsen, Achim / Eppinger, Matthias: Orthopedics and trauma surgery: for study and practice, medical Vlgs- u. Information services, 2018
  • Austria's public health portal: kyphosis and lordosis: what is it? (Accessed: 16.07.2019), gesundheit.gv.at
  • Scoliosis Research Society: Kyphose (access: July 16, 2019), srs.org

ICD codes for this disease: M40ICD codes are internationally valid encodings for medical diagnoses. You can find e.g. in doctor's letters or on disability certificates.


Video: Kyphosis, or Dowagers Hump, Stretches u0026 Exercises - Ask Doctor Jo (June 2022).


Comments:

  1. Roibeard

    It seems magnificent idea to me is

  2. Dunmore

    Test, senks to the writer

  3. Nahele

    Bravo, is simply excellent idea



Write a message