أخبار

انتشار البعوض المعدل وراثيا - خطر غير مفسر


فشلت تجربة الجينات بشكل ينذر بالخطر

يمكن أن يكون للتجربة الفاشلة في تعديل البعوض وراثيًا تأثيرات خطيرة على البشر. بدلاً من مكافحة الأمراض التي ينقلها البعوض ، تم تعديل سلالة حشرة لاحتواء جين قاتل مهيمن كان من المفترض أن يمنع تكاثر البعوض. ومع ذلك ، يبدو أن هذه أصبحت أكثر مقاومة بعد فترة قصيرة ويزداد عدد الحشرات بقوة مرة أخرى.

في تجربة على البعوض ، أنشأ الباحثون الآن حشرات تحمل جينًا مهلكًا مميتًا من أجل الحد من التكاثر. ومع ذلك ، هذا يعمل فقط لفترة قصيرة. ونشر تقرير لجامعة ييل عن التجربة الفاشلة في مجلة "التقارير العلمية" الصادرة باللغة الإنجليزية.

ماذا كان هدف التجربة؟

في التجربة ، أراد الباحثون تعديل البعوض وراثيًا (البعوض) بحيث يكون لدى الحشرات عدد أقل من النسل ، مما يقلل من حجم السكان. يبدو أن هذه التجربة قد فشلت لأن جينات البعوض المعدلة تختلط مع السكان الأصليين للحشرات ، والتي لا يمكن أن تكون ممكنة.

كان عدد البعوض ينخفض ​​فقط

عند محاولة السيطرة على الأمراض التي ينقلها البعوض مثل الحمى الصفراء وحمى الضنك وشيكونغونيا وحمى زيكا ، تم تعديل سلالة البعوض وراثيًا. في البرازيل ، تم إطلاق حوالي 450.000 ذكر من السلالة المعدلة وراثيًا أسبوعيًا لمدة 27 شهرًا. ونتيجة لذلك ، انخفض عدد الحشرات في البداية ، ولكن بعد 18 شهرًا بدأ عدد البعوض في الارتفاع مرة أخرى.

قد تكون التجربة جعلت الحشرات أكثر مقاومة

كانت الفكرة الحقيقية هي أن الجينات من سلالة الإطلاق لن تدخل إلى عامة السكان من الحشرات لأن ذريتها ستموت. ولكن بعد ذلك تطور الوضع بشكل مختلف تمامًا. ويخشى حتى من أن التجربة يمكن أن تجعل البعوض أكثر مقاومة. ومع ذلك ، تم إبلاغ الجمهور أن الحشرات لا تشكل أي مخاطر صحية إضافية.

ما مدى أهمية برنامج المراقبة الجينية؟

أشار تحليل التجربة إلى أن فعالية برنامج الإطلاق تضاءلت بعد حوالي 18 شهرًا ، وبعدها تعافى البعوض تقريبًا إلى العدد الذي كان عليه قبل الاختبار. تظهر هذه النتائج مدى أهمية تنفيذ برنامج للرصد الجيني أثناء إطلاق الكائنات الحية المعدلة وراثيا لتحديد العواقب غير المتوقعة. تم تطوير سلالة البعوض المعدلة من قبل شركة حصلت مسبقًا على موافقة إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير لإجراء اختبارات مماثلة. (مثل)

معلومات المؤلف والمصدر

هذا النص يتوافق مع متطلبات الأدب الطبي والمبادئ التوجيهية الطبية والدراسات الحالية وقد تم فحصه من قبل الأطباء.

تضخم:

  • بنيامين ر. إيفانز ، بانايوتا كوتساكيزي ، أندريه لويس كوستا دا سيلفا ، رافائيلا سايوري إيوشينو ، لويزا غارزييرا وآخرون.


فيديو: الأغذية المعدلة وراثيا (شهر اكتوبر 2020).

News

Released genetically modified mosquitoes spread - risk unexplained


Gene experiment fails ominously

A failed experiment in genetically modifying mosquitoes could have dangerous effects on humans. Instead of fighting mosquito-borne diseases, an insect strain was modified to contain a dominant deadly gene that was supposed to prevent mosquito reproduction. However, these seem to have become more resistant after a short time and the number of insects is increasing strongly again.

In an experiment on mosquitoes, the researchers have now created insects that carry a dominant, deadly gene in order to limit reproduction. However, this only works for a short time. A report by Yale University on the failed experiment was published in the English-language journal "Scientific Reports".

What was the aim of the experiment?

In the experiment, the researchers wanted to genetically modify mosquitoes (mosquitoes) so that the insects had fewer offspring, which would reduce the population size. This experiment seems to have failed because the genes of the modified mosquitoes mix with the native population of insects, which shouldn't be possible.

Population of mosquitoes was only declining

When trying to control mosquito-borne diseases such as yellow fever, dengue, chikungunya and zika fever, a mosquito strain was genetically modified. In Brazil, approximately 450,000 males of the genetically modified strain were released weekly for a period of 27 months. As a result, the number of insects initially decreased, but after 18 months the number of mosquitoes began to increase again.

The trial may have made insects even more resistant

The real idea was that genes from the release strain would not get into the general population of insects because their offspring would die. But then the situation developed completely differently. It is even feared that the experiment could have made the mosquitoes more resistant. However, the public was informed that the insects pose no additional health risk.

How important is a genetic monitoring program?

Analysis of the experiment indicated that the effectiveness of the release program waned after about 18 months, after which the mosquito population almost recovered to the number it had before the test. These results show how important it is to implement a genetic monitoring program during the release of transgenic organisms to identify unforeseen consequences. The modified mosquito strain was developed by a company that had previously received FDA approval for similar tests. (as)

Author and source information

This text corresponds to the specifications of the medical literature, medical guidelines and current studies and has been checked by medical doctors.

Swell:

  • Benjamin R. Evans, Panayiota Kotsakiozi, Andre Luis Costa-da-Silva, Rafaella Sayuri Ioshino, Luiza Garziera et al .: Transgenic Aedes aegypti Mosquitoes Transfer Genes into a Natural Population, in Scientific Reports (query: 18.09.2019), Scientific Reports



Video: Study Finds Public Pushing Back On Genetically Modified Mosquitoes (January 2022).