أخبار

الإنتان: علاج فيتامين سي يحسن معدلات البقاء على قيد الحياة


علاج فيتامين ج مناسب لعلاج الإنتان

يمكن أن يؤدي العلاج بحقن فيتامين سي إلى زيادة كبيرة في معدلات البقاء على قيد الحياة في حالات التسمم بالدم ، وفقًا لدراسة حديثة. "هذا العلاج يمكن أن يغير الطريقة التي نعالج بها مرضى الإنتان. يقول قائد الدراسة د. ربما وجدنا علاجًا منقذًا للحياة. أصدر ألفا فاولر من جامعة فرجينيا كومنولث بيانًا صحفيًا حول نتائج الدراسة.

للوهلة الأولى ، تبدو نتيجة الدراسة الحالية مخيبة للآمال إلى حد ما ، حيث لم يتم العثور على آثار إيجابية للعلاج بفيتامين سي على ضعف الأعضاء وعلامات الالتهاب وإصابات الأوعية الدموية. ومع ذلك ، لاحظ فريق البحث أيضًا انخفاضًا كبيرًا في معدل الوفيات في مجموعة الاختبار. تم تقليل احتمالية الوفاة من الإنتان بشكل كبير عن طريق العلاج بفيتامين سي. ونشرت نتائج الدراسة في مجلة "جاما" المتخصصة.

ما هو الإنتان؟

الإنتان (تسمم الدم) هو رد فعل دفاعي لعدوى متصاعدة ، والتي في أسوأ الحالات يمكن أن تؤدي إلى فشل متعدد الأعضاء والموت. ويشير فريق البحث إلى أنه أحد الأسباب الرئيسية لوفيات المرضى الداخليين ويتحمل مسؤولية حوالي 300.000 حالة وفاة سنويًا في الولايات المتحدة وحدها. غالبًا ما تخترق مسببات الأمراض الجسم في سياق الالتهاب الرئوي عبر الإصابات الدقيقة في الجهاز التنفسي.

علاج فيتامين سي في الاختبار السريري

في الدراسة الحالية ، حقق فريق البحث الآن في "ما إذا كان فيتامين C علاجًا أكثر فاعلية لفشل الأعضاء من المعيار الحالي لرعاية الإنتان". (5٪ دكستروز في الماء ؛ 83 مشاركًا) أو علاج فيتامين سي (فيتامين سي عن طريق الوريد كل 96 ساعة ؛ 84 مشاركًا).

وقت أقصر في وحدة العناية المركزة وفي المستشفى

في حين لم يكن هناك دليل في هذه الدراسة على أن "فيتامين سي يحسن فشل الأعضاء المرتبط بالانتان ، فقد قلل بشكل كبير من طول فترة بقاء المرضى في المستشفى" ، حسبما أفاد د. الصياد. في المتوسط ​​، أمضت مجموعة فيتامين سي ثلاثة أيام أقل في العناية المركزة (سبعة أيام مقابل عشرة أيام) بعد فترة أربعة أسابيع. بعد شهرين ، كانوا في المتوسط ​​أقل بأسبوع واحد في المستشفى (15 يومًا مقابل 22) من المشاركين في مجموعة الدواء الوهمي.

تقليل الوفيات من خلال العلاج بفيتامين سي

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قلل العلاج بفيتامين C عن طريق الوريد معدل الوفيات في الإنتان من 46 بالمائة في مجموعة الدواء الوهمي إلى أقل من 30 بالمائة في مجموعة فيتامين C (بعد أربعة أسابيع من بدء العلاج). يأمل الباحثون أن العلاج بفيتامين سي يمكن أن يغير علاج الإنتان. يؤكد فولر: "ربما وجدنا علاجًا منقذًا للحياة". في حين أن هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من البحث ، فإن نتائج هذه الدراسة العشوائية المزدوجة التعمية المزدوجة التي تسيطر عليها وهمي لفيتامين C وتأثيراته المحتملة على الإنتان مشجعة.

يمكن استخدام علاج فيتامين سي بعدة طرق

في الدراسات المستقبلية ، يمكن تحقيق نتائج أفضل ، لأن الجرعات العالية من فيتامين سي وأوقات تناول أطول يمكن أن تحدث فرقًا كبيرًا ، كما يقول فاولر. يشير الخبير أيضًا إلى استخدامات أخرى محتملة لعلاج فيتامين سي ، مثل الرجفان الأذيني وأمراض القلب الأخرى التي غالبًا ما تسبب الالتهاب. قال فاولر: "قائمة الاستخدامات الممكنة للعلاج بفيتامين سي أصبحت أطول". يتم حاليًا دراسة استخدام علاج فيتامين سي للتليف الكيسي وإصابات الرأس. (فب)

معلومات المؤلف والمصدر

يتوافق هذا النص مع مواصفات الأدبيات الطبية والمبادئ التوجيهية الطبية والدراسات الحالية وقد تم فحصها من قبل الأطباء.

السكرتير الجغرافي فابيان بيترز

تضخم:

  • جامعة فرجينيا كومنولث: دراسة جديدة تربط العلاج بفيتامين سي بمعدلات بقاء أفضل بعد الإنتان (نُشر في 10/01/2019) ، جامعة فرجينيا كومنولث
  • Alpha A. Fowler، Jonathon D. Truwit، R. Duncan Hite، et al.: تأثير حقن فيتامين C على فشل الأعضاء والمؤشرات الحيوية للالتهاب وإصابة الأوعية الدموية في المرضى الذين يعانون من الإنتان والفشل التنفسي الحاد الشديد التجربة السريرية العشوائية لـ CITRIS-ALI ؛ في: JAMA ، المجلد 322 ، الإصدار 13 ، 2019 ، jamanetwork.com


فيديو: معجزات فيتامين سي في زيادة مناعة الاطفال و جرعة فيتامين سي اليومية للرضع و الاطفال. Vitamin C (شهر اكتوبر 2020).

News

Sepsis: Vitamin C therapy improves survival rates


Vitamin C therapy suitable for the treatment of sepsis

Treatment with vitamin C injections can significantly increase survival rates in blood poisoning, according to a recent study. “This therapy could change the way we treat sepsis patients. We may have found a life-saving therapy, ”says study leader Dr. Alpha A. Fowler of Virginia Commonwealth University released a press release on the study results.

At first glance, the result of the current study seems somewhat disappointing, since no positive effects of vitamin C therapy on organ dysfunction, inflammation markers and vascular injuries were found. However, the research team also observed a significantly reduced mortality in the test group. The probability of dying from sepsis has been massively reduced by vitamin C therapy. The results of the study were published in the specialist magazine "JAMA".

What is sepsis?

Sepsis (blood poisoning) is a defense reaction to an escalating infection, which in the worst case could lead to multi-organ failure and death. It is one of the leading causes of inpatient death and is held responsible for around 300,000 deaths annually in the United States alone, the research team reports. The pathogens often penetrate the body in the course of pneumonia via micro-injuries to the respiratory tract.

Vitamin C therapy in a clinical test

In the current study, the research team has now investigated "whether vitamin C is a more effective treatment for organ failure than the current standard of care for sepsis." At seven medical intensive care units in US clinics, 167 patients with sepsis and acute respiratory complaints were treated either with a placebo (5% dextrose in water; 83 participants) or vitamin C therapy (vitamin C intravenously every 96 hours; 84 participants).

Shorter time in the intensive care unit and in the hospital

While there was no evidence in this study that "Vitamin C improves sepsis-related organ failure, it has significantly reduced the length of time patients stay in hospital," reports Dr. Fowler. On average, the vitamin C group spent three days less in intensive care (seven days versus ten days) after a period of four weeks. After two months, they were on average one week less in the hospital (15 days versus 22) than the participants in the placebo group.

Reduced mortality through vitamin C therapy

In addition, intravenous vitamin C therapy reduced mortality in sepsis from 46 percent in the placebo group to less than 30 percent in the vitamin C group (four weeks after the start of treatment). The researchers hope that vitamin C therapy could change the treatment of sepsis. "We may have found life-saving therapy," emphasizes Fowler. While further research is needed, the results of this first randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study of vitamin C and its possible effects on sepsis are encouraging.

Vitamin C therapy can be used in many ways

In future studies, even better results may be achievable, since higher doses of vitamin C and longer intake times could make a big difference, says Fowler. The expert also points to other possible uses of vitamin C therapy, such as atrial fibrillation and other heart diseases that often result in inflammation. "The list of possible uses for vitamin C therapy is getting longer," said Fowler. The use of vitamin C therapy for cystic fibrosis and head injuries is currently being investigated. (fp)

Author and source information

This text corresponds to the specifications of the medical literature, medical guidelines and current studies and has been checked by medical doctors.

Dipl. Geogr. Fabian Peters

Swell:

  • Virginia Commonwealth University: New study links vitamin C therapy to better survival rates after sepsis (published 10/01/2019), Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Alpha A. Fowler, Jonathon D. Truwit, R. Duncan Hite, et al .: Effect of Vitamin C Infusion on Organ Failure and Biomarkers of Inflammation and Vascular Injury in Patients With Sepsis and Severe Acute Respiratory Failure The CITRIS-ALI Randomized Clinical Trial; in: JAMA, Volume 322, Issue 13, 2019, jamanetwork.com



Video: Meet Dr. Alpha A. Fowler III, Internal Medicine, Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Specialist (January 2022).