أخبار

يزيد أولئك الذين ينامون لفترة طويلة من خطر الإصابة بالخرف


يزداد خطر الإصابة بالخرف من تسع ساعات من النوم في الليلة

لطالما نوقشت الروابط المحتملة بين أوقات النوم وتطور الخرف. توصلت دراسة حالية الآن إلى استنتاج مفاده أن هناك صلة واضحة بخطر الإصابة بمرض الخرف ، خاصة عند النوم لفترة طويلة - على الأقل في مجموعات السكان من أصل إسباني.

أولئك الذين ينامون أكثر من تسع ساعات في الليلة معرضون بشكل متزايد لخطر الإصابة بالخرف ، وفقًا لفريق البحث في مدرسة جامعة ميامي ميللر. اتصال مثير للدهشة ، خاصة وأن قلة النوم (أقل من ست ساعات في الليلة) لم يكن مرتبطًا بانخفاض القدرات المعرفية. ونشرت نتائج الدراسة في مجلة "الزهايمر والخرف" المتخصصة.

فحص الآثار على المهارات المعرفية

وفقًا للباحثين ، فإن الأشخاص في الولايات المتحدة الذين لديهم أصول أمريكية لاتينية أو من أصل إسباني هم أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالخرف "من البيض غير اللاتينيين" ، وهذا هو السبب في أن الدراسة الحالية استهدفت هذه الفئة من السكان على وجه التحديد. أستاذ د. قام ألبرتو ر. راموس وفريقه بتحليل البيانات من 16000 شخص من أصل إسباني في شيكاغو وميامي وسان دييجو ومدينة نيويورك. أكمل 5247 مشاركًا تتراوح أعمارهم بين 45 و 75 اختبارًا معرفيًا في بداية فترة الدراسة وكرروه بعد سبع سنوات. كما تم تسجيل مدة النوم ووجود توقف التنفس أثناء النوم والتعب أثناء النهار واضطرابات النوم التي حدثت.

ضعف القدرة على التعلم وأداء الذاكرة

يلخص د. لخص راموس نتائج تحليل البيانات. بناءً على نتائج الاختبار ، أصبح من الواضح أن مراحل النوم لأكثر من تسع ساعات في الليلة ترتبط بانخفاض في ما يسمى التعلم العرضي وأداء الذاكرة. من الواضح أن وظيفة التنفيذ وسرعة المعالجة في دماغ المتضررين تضعف.

مؤشر وقت النوم للضعف المعرفي؟

يمكن أن تسبق العيوب المعرفية المحددة تطور الخرف أو مرض الزهايمر ، وبالتالي يجب تقييمها على أنها مؤشر على زيادة خطر الإصابة بالمرض. يجب على الأطباء أن يدركوا أيضًا أن هناك صلة بين أوقات النوم والضعف الإدراكي ، يقول الدكتور يستمر راموس. قد يكون من الممكن استخدام أوقات النوم لتحديد المرضى المعرضين للخطر الذين يمكنهم الاستفادة من التدخل المبكر. يؤكد مدير الدراسة أن هذا يمكن أن يقلل من خطر الخرف أو حتى يمنع المرض تمامًا.

مطلوب مزيد من الدراسات

وفقًا لفريق البحث ، فإن نتائج الدراسة الحالية ذات أهمية خاصة للسكان من أصل إسباني في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، حيث أنها معرضة لخطر الإصابة بمرض الزهايمر أعلى بكثير من البيض غير اللاتينيين. لكن النتائج لها أيضًا نطاق عام. على وجه الخصوص ، لم تتم مناقشة العلاقة بين خطر الخرف وأوقات النوم الطويلة إلا بشكل هامشي بين الخبراء. يجب أن يتضمن البحث المستقبلي تحديد الأثر ، مع مراعاة الروابط المحتملة مع ما يسمى بالأمراض الدماغية الوعائية ، والتي قد تكون سبب الانخفاض المعرفي ، وفقًا لفريق البحث الأمريكي. (ص)

معلومات المؤلف والمصدر

هذا النص يتوافق مع متطلبات الأدب الطبي والمبادئ التوجيهية الطبية والدراسات الحالية وقد تم فحصه من قبل الأطباء.

السكرتير الجغرافي فابيان بيترز

تضخم:

  • Alberto R. Ramosa، et al.: النوم والتدهور المعرفي العصبي في دراسة صحة المجتمع الإسباني / دراسة اللاتينيين ؛ في: مرض الزهايمر والخرف (تاريخ النشر: 09.10.2019) ، alzheimersanddementia.com
  • كلية الطب بجامعة ميامي ميللر: دراسة تربط اضطرابات النوم ومرض الزهايمر بين ذوي الأصول الأسبانية (نُشر في 09.10.2019) ، eurekalert.org


فيديو: الشخص الذي لا ينام بسهوله (ديسمبر 2020).

News

Those who sleep too long increase their risk of dementia

Those who sleep too long increase their risk of dementia



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

The risk of dementia increases from nine hours of sleep per night

Possible connections between sleep times and the development of dementia have long been discussed. A current study has now come to the conclusion that there is a clear connection with the risk of dementia disease, especially when sleeping long - at least in Hispanic population groups.

Those who sleep more than nine hours a night are at increased risk of dementia, according to the research team at the University of Miami Miller School. A connection that is quite surprising, especially since short sleep (less than six hours a night) was not associated with a decline in cognitive abilities. The study results were published in the specialist magazine "Alzheimer's & Dementia".

Effects on cognitive skills examined

According to the researchers, people in the United States with Latin American or Hispanic origins are at higher risk of dementia “than non-Hispanic whites”, which is why the current study specifically targeted this population group. Professor Dr. Alberto R. Ramos and his team analyzed the data from 16,000 Hispanic people in Chicago, Miami, San Diego and New York City. 5,247 participants between the ages of 45 and 75 completed a cognitive test at the beginning of the study period and repeated it after seven years. The duration of sleep, the presence of sleep apnea, tiredness during the day and sleep disorders that occurred were also recorded.

Learning ability and memory performance impaired

"Chronic sleep disorders and prolonged sleep seem to be associated with a decline in cognitive functions that can precede the onset of Alzheimer's disease or other dementias," summarizes Dr. Ramos summarized the results of the data analysis. Based on the test results, it became clear that sleeping phases of more than nine hours per night are associated with a decline in so-called episodic learning and memory performance. The execution function and the processing speed in the brain of those affected are clearly impaired.

Sleep time indicator of cognitive impairment?

The identified cognitive impairments can precede the development of dementia or Alzheimer's disease and should therefore be assessed as an indication of an increased risk of illness. Doctors should also be aware that there is a connection between sleep times and cognitive impairments, says Dr. Ramos continues. It may be possible to use the sleep times to identify risk patients who can benefit from early intervention. The study director emphasizes that this could reduce the risk of dementia or even prevent the disease altogether.

Further studies required

According to the research team, the current study results are of particular importance to the Hispanic population in the USA, as they are at a significantly higher risk of Alzheimer's than non-Hispanic whites. But the findings also have a general scope. In particular, the connection between the risk of dementia and long sleep times has only been marginally discussed among experts. Future research should include a quantification of the effect, taking into account potential connections with so-called cerebrovascular diseases, which could be the reason for the cognitive decline, according to the US research team. (fp)

Author and source information

This text corresponds to the requirements of the medical literature, medical guidelines and current studies and has been checked by medical doctors.

Dipl. Geogr. Fabian Peters

Swell:

  • Alberto R. Ramosa, et al .: Sleep and neurocognitive decline in the Hispanic Community Health Study / Study of Latinos; in: Alzheimer's & Dementia (published 09.10.2019), alzheimersanddementia.com
  • University of Miami Miller School of Medicine: Study links sleep disturbances and Alzheimer's among Hispanics (published 10/10/2019), eurekalert.org



Video: The 3Ds of Geriatric Psychiatry - Delirium, Dementia, Depression. #UCLAMDChat Webinars (August 2022).