أخبار

سرطان الثدي: إن تشخيص الذكاء الاصطناعي من Google أكثر دقة من تشخيص أخصائي الأشعة


الذكاء الاصطناعي لتشخيص سرطان الثدي؟

لسوء الحظ ، لا تزال العديد من النساء حول العالم تصاب بسرطان الثدي كل عام ، والذي يتم اكتشافه في وقت متأخر نسبيًا. هناك حاجة لتحسين التشخيص. أصبح الذكاء الاصطناعي من Google قادرًا الآن على اكتشاف سرطان الثدي بدقة أكبر في التصوير الشعاعي للثدي من أطباء الأشعة.

وجدت الدراسة المشتركة الأخيرة التي أجرتها Google Health وجامعة Northwestern ومستشفى Royal Surrey County Hospital أن الذكاء الاصطناعي يمكن أن يحدد سرطان الثدي بشكل أكثر دقة من أطباء الأشعة. ونشرت نتائج الدراسة في مجلة "نيتشر" الصادرة باللغة الإنجليزية.

من الصعب الكشف والتشخيص المبكر لسرطان الثدي

سرطان الثدي هو السرطان الاكثر شيوعا في النساء. يتم استخدام التصوير الشعاعي للثدي الرقمي أو الأشعة السينية للصدر هنا للكشف المبكر. على الرغم من استخدام التصوير الشعاعي للثدي على نطاق واسع ، لا يزال الكشف والتشخيص المبكر لسرطان الثدي يمثل مشكلة.

يمكن أن يؤدي تقييم صور الأشعة السينية إلى نتائج غير صحيحة

يعد التقييم الصحيح لصور الأشعة السينية مهمة صعبة حتى بالنسبة للأشخاص المدربين عليها ، مما قد يؤدي إلى نتائج إيجابية خاطئة وسلبية كاذبة. يمكن أن تؤدي عدم الدقة إلى تأخيرات في التشخيص والعلاج وإلى إجهاد غير ضروري للنساء المعنيات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تؤدي إلى زيادة عبء العمل لأطباء الأشعة المشغولين بالكامل بالفعل.

هل يمكن للذكاء الاصطناعي تحسين تشخيص سرطان الثدي؟

على مدى العامين الماضيين ، استعرضت التعاون مع شركاء الأبحاث السريرية الرائدين في المملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة ما إذا كان الذكاء الاصطناعي يمكن أن يحسن اكتشاف سرطان الثدي.

كان الذكاء الاصطناعي أكثر موثوقية من أطباء الأشعة

أظهرت النتائج المقدمة أن نموذج الذكاء الاصطناعي في ما يسمى بتصوير الثدي الشعاعي غير المحدد (الذي تمت فيه إزالة معلومات تحديد الهوية) يتعرف على سرطان الثدي بدقة أكبر وأقل إيجابية كاذبة وأقل نتائج سلبية كاذبة من أطباء الأشعة.

كيف تم تدريب وتنسيق الذكاء الاصطناعي؟

وهذا يخلق الظروف المناسبة للتطبيقات المستقبلية التي يمكن أن يساعد النموذج فيها أطباء الأشعة في إجراء فحوصات سرطان الثدي. تم تدريب النموذج الجديد وضبطه باستخدام مجموعة بيانات تمثيلية تتكون من تصوير الثدي الشعاعي غير معروف من أكثر من 76000 امرأة في المملكة المتحدة وأكثر من 15000 امرأة في الولايات المتحدة.

حقق النظام انخفاض في النتائج الخاطئة

ثم تم اختبار النموذج على مجموعة بيانات منفصلة غير محددة الهوية لأكثر من 25000 امرأة في المملكة المتحدة وأكثر من 3000 امرأة في الولايات المتحدة. في هذا التقييم ، حقق النظام انخفاضًا إيجابيًا كاذبًا بنسبة 5.7 في المائة في الولايات المتحدة و 1.2 في المائة في المملكة المتحدة.

تجربة أخرى تؤكد النتائج

تم فحص ما إذا كان النموذج قابلاً للتحويل إلى أنظمة صحية أخرى. وذكر الباحثون أنه في هذه التجربة المنفصلة ، حدث انخفاض بنسبة 3.5٪ في الإيجابيات الكاذبة و 8.1٪ في السلبيات الكاذبة.

يحتاج الذكاء الاصطناعي إلى معلومات أقل للتشخيص

من الجدير بالذكر أيضًا أن النموذج يتطلب معلومات أقل لاتخاذ قراراته. تمكن أخصائيو الأشعة البشرية من الوصول إلى تاريخ المريض وأشعة الماموجرام السابقة ، في حين أن النموذج عالج أحدث صور الماموجرام مجهولة الهوية دون معلومات إضافية. على الرغم من هذا القيد ، تفوق النموذج على أطباء الأشعة الفرديين في تحديد سرطان الثدي بدقة.

هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من البحث

بالنظر إلى المستقبل ، هناك بعض الدلائل الواعدة على أن النموذج يمكن أن يزيد من دقة وكفاءة برامج الفحص ويقلل من أوقات الانتظار والضغوط على النساء. ومع ذلك ، هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من البحوث والتجارب السريرية المستقبلية والموافقة التنظيمية لتحقيق ذلك. (مثل)

معلومات المؤلف والمصدر

هذا النص يتوافق مع متطلبات الأدب الطبي والمبادئ التوجيهية الطبية والدراسات الحالية وقد تم فحصه من قبل الأطباء.

تضخم:

  • Scott Mayer McKinney ، Marcin Sieniek ، Varun Godbole ، Jonathan Godwin ، Shravya Shetty et al.: تقييم دولي لنظام AI لفحص سرطان الثدي ، في الطبيعة (الاستعلام: 06.01.2020) ، الطبيعة


فيديو: د. صلاح عباسي - التطورات في علاج سرطان الثدي - طب وصحة (شهر اكتوبر 2021).

News

Breast cancer: Google AI diagnosis is more accurate than that of the radiologist

Breast cancer: Google AI diagnosis is more accurate than that of the radiologist


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Artificial intelligence to diagnose breast cancer?

Unfortunately, many women around the world still develop breast cancer every year, which is discovered relatively late. Improved diagnosis is needed. Artificial intelligence from Google is now able to detect breast cancer more precisely on mammography than radiologists.

The recent joint study by Google Health, Northwestern University and the Royal Surrey County Hospital found that artificial intelligence can identify breast cancer more accurately than radiologists. The results of the study were published in the English-language journal "Nature".

Early detection and diagnosis of breast cancer is difficult

Breast cancer is the most common cancer in women. Digital mammography or chest X-rays are used here for early detection. Despite the widespread use of mammography, the early detection and diagnosis of breast cancer remains problematic.

Evaluation of X-ray images can lead to incorrect results

Correct evaluation of the X-ray images is a difficult task even for people trained on them, which can lead to both false positive and false negative results. Inaccuracies can lead to delays in diagnosis and treatment and to unnecessary stress for the women concerned. In addition, they lead to a higher workload for radiologists who are already fully occupied.

Can artificial intelligence improve the diagnosis of breast cancer?

Over the past two years, collaborations with leading clinical research partners in the UK and US have reviewed whether artificial intelligence could improve breast cancer detection.

AI was more reliable than radiologists

The results presented show that the artificial intelligence model in so-called de-identified screening mammographies (in which identifiable information was removed) recognizes breast cancer with greater accuracy, less false-positive and less false-negative results than radiologists.

How was the AI ​​trained and coordinated?

This creates the conditions for future applications in which the model could possibly assist radiologists in performing breast cancer screenings. The new model was trained and matched using a representative dataset consisting of de-identified mammographies from more than 76,000 women in the UK and more than 15,000 women in the US.

System achieved reduction in false results

The model was then tested on a separate de-identified data set of more than 25,000 women in the UK and over 3,000 women in the US. In this evaluation, the system achieved a false positive reduction of 5.7 percent in the US and 1.2 percent in the UK.

Another experiment confirms results

It was also checked whether the model was transferable to other health systems. In this separate experiment, there was a 3.5 percent reduction in false positives and an 8.1 percent reduction in false negatives, the researchers report.

AI needs less information for diagnosis

It is also noteworthy that the model requires less information to make its decisions. Human radiologists had access to patient history and previous mammographies, while the model only processed the most recent anonymized mammogram without additional information. Despite this limitation, the model outperformed individual radiologists in accurately identifying breast cancer.

More research is needed

Looking ahead, there are some promising signs that the model could potentially increase the accuracy and efficiency of screening programs and reduce waiting times and stress for women. However, further research, prospective clinical trials and regulatory approval are required to achieve this. (as)

Author and source information

This text corresponds to the specifications of the medical literature, medical guidelines and current studies and has been checked by medical doctors.

Swell:

  • Scott Mayer McKinney, Marcin Sieniek, Varun Godbole, Jonathan Godwin, Shravya Shetty et al .: International evaluation of an AI system for breast cancer screening, in Nature (query: 06.01.2020), Nature


Video: Google says its AI beats doctors at detecting breast cancer (May 2022).