أخبار

تزيد القهوة واللحوم والكاكاو وزيت النخيل من خطر الإصابة بالملاريا


تؤدي إزالة الغابات للسلع الاستهلاكية إلى زيادة انتقال الملاريا

مع غرق العالم في ذعر الهالة ، يتم نسيان أمراض أخرى واسعة الانتشار وربما أكثر خطورة. الملاريا هي واحدة من هذه الأمراض. وفقا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO) ، تعاقد حوالي 228 مليون شخص في عام 2018. توفي 405،000 شخص من عدوى الملاريا. تُظهر دراسة حالية الآن كيف أن سلوكنا الاستهلاكي اليومي يعزز الانتشار المستمر للملاريا.

في دراسة ، أظهر باحثون من جامعة سيدني وجامعة ساو باولو أن التصدير الدولي للسلع الاستهلاكية مثل القهوة وفول الصويا والكاكاو وزيت النخيل ولحم البقر والقطن والمنتجات الخشبية يدفع انتشار الملاريا. والسبب في ذلك هو أنه يتم الترويج لإزالة الغابات العالمية لهذه المنتجات ، مما يخلق ظروفًا أكثر ملاءمة لبعوض ينشر البعوض. وقد تم تقديم النتائج مؤخرًا في مجلة "Nature Communications" الشهيرة.

ماذا يعني هذا بالنسبة للمستهلكين؟

يؤكد مؤلف الدراسة البروفيسور مانفريد لينزين ، "علينا أن نولي المزيد من الاهتمام لاستهلاكنا ومشترياتنا وتجنب الشراء من مصادر مرتبطة بإزالة الغابات". بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يجب تشجيع الزراعة الأكثر استدامة في البلدان النامية على وجه السرعة.

الاستهلاك كقوة دافعة لانتشار الملاريا

وقد أظهرت الدراسات السابقة أن إزالة الغابات واضطرابات الغابات المطيرة يمكن أن تزيد من انتقال الملاريا عن طريق خلق الظروف التي يزدهر فيها البعوض. تخلق إزالة الغابات موائل أكثر دفئًا مع عدد أقل من الحيوانات المفترسة ، مما يسمح للبعوض بالانتشار بشكل أفضل.

الدراسة الحالية هي أول عمل يربط الطلب العالمي على سلع معينة بزيادة خطر الإصابة بالملاريا بين البشر. "هذه الدراسة هي الأولى لتقييم دور الاستهلاك العالمي في زيادة إزالة الغابات وبالتالي خطر الملاريا" ، يؤكد د. أرونيما مالك من فريق الدراسة. الاستهلاك غير المستدام هو قوة دافعة لانتشار الملاريا.

ضرب عدة البعوض مع منشط

يوضح البروفيسور لينزن: "إن الابتعاد عن إزالة الغابات له مزايا تفوق تلك المرتبطة بالملاريا". كما سيساعد على الحد من فقدان التنوع البيولوجي وتقليل انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري.

ما يتم شراؤه هنا يضر في الطرف الآخر من العالم

درس الباحثون العلاقة بين تزايد خطر الإصابة بالملاريا في البلدان النامية والمنتجات المطلوبة من المستهلكين البعيدين. يوضح د. مالك.

قال مالك: "يتجاوز هذا العمل رسم الخرائط وحدوث الارتباطات البسيطة لأنه يكشف عن شبكة سلسلة إمداد عالمية تربط الملاريا التي تحدث في مواقع معينة بسبب إزالة الغابات مع الاستهلاك المنتشر عالميًا".

مكافحة الملاريا من خلال تنظيم سلسلة التوريد

وعلى العكس من ذلك ، يمكن استخدام نتائج الدراسة لتطوير مناهج قائمة على الطلب لاحتواء الملاريا بالتركيز على تنظيم سلاسل التوريد العالمية المتأثرة بالملاريا.

وقد ثبت نجاح مبادرات مثل وضع العلامات على المنتجات وإصدار الشهادات وحوار سلسلة التوريد ومعايير الشراء الخضراء في معالجة القضايا المتعلقة بالتجارة العالمية مثل إزالة الغابات وتهديدات الأنواع وعمالة الأطفال. يمكن أن تكون الآليات القانونية في هذا المجال إجراءً جيدًا لمكافحة الملاريا.

ومع ذلك ، فمن الصعب تنفيذ مثل هذه التدابير في جميع المجالات. في البرازيل ، على سبيل المثال ، انتقدت الصناعة الزراعية التشريعات البيئية التي تلزم ملاك الأراضي بالحفاظ على جزء من أراضيهم بالنباتات الأصلية. (ف ب)

معلومات المؤلف والمصدر

يتوافق هذا النص مع مواصفات الأدبيات الطبية والمبادئ التوجيهية الطبية والدراسات الحالية وقد تم فحصها من قبل الأطباء.

محرر الدراسات العليا (FH) فولكر بلاسيك

تضخم:

  • ليوناردو سوفيز موريرا تشافيس ، جاكوب فراي ، أرونيما مالك ، وآخرون: الاستهلاك العالمي والتجارة الدولية في السلع المرتبطة بإزالة الغابات يمكن أن تؤثر على مخاطر الملاريا ؛ في: Nature Communications، 2020، nature.com
  • جامعة سيدني: هل قهوتك تساهم في خطر الملاريا؟ (تاريخ النشر: 09.03.2020) ، eurekalert.org
  • WHO: Malaria (تم الوصول: 9 مارس 2020) ، who.int


فيديو: العثور على أجسام مضادة لفيروس كورونا في حليب الأم. فهل يستخدم للعلاج (شهر اكتوبر 2021).

News

Coffee, meat, cocoa and palm oil increase the risk of malaria

Coffee, meat, cocoa and palm oil increase the risk of malaria


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Deforestation for consumer goods increases the transmission of malaria

As the world sinks into corona panic, other widespread and perhaps far more dangerous diseases are forgotten. Malaria is one of these diseases. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), around 228 million people contracted it in 2018. 405,000 people died from a malaria infection. A current study now shows how our daily consumption behavior promotes the constant spread of malaria.

In a study, researchers from the University of Sydney and the University of São Paulo showed that the international export of consumer goods such as coffee, soybeans, cocoa, palm oil, beef, cotton and wood products drives the spread of malaria. The reason for this is that global deforestation is being promoted for these products, which creates more favorable conditions for mosquito-spreading mosquitoes. The results were recently presented in the renowned journal "Nature Communications".

What does this mean for consumers?

"We have to pay more attention to our consumption and procurement and avoid buying from sources that are connected with deforestation," emphasizes study author Professor Manfred Lenzen. In addition, more sustainable agriculture in developing countries must urgently be promoted.

Consumption as a driving force in the spread of malaria

Earlier studies have shown that deforestation and rainforest disturbances can increase malaria transmission by creating conditions in which mosquitoes thrive. Deforestation creates warmer habitats with fewer predators, which allows mosquitoes to spread better.

The current study is the first work to link global demand for certain goods with an increase in malaria risk in humans. "This study is the first to assess the role of global consumption in increasing deforestation and thus the risk of malaria," emphasizes Dr. Arunima Malik from the study team. Unsustainable consumption is a driving force in the spread of malaria.

Hit several mosquitoes with a swatter

"Moving away from deforestation has advantages beyond those associated with malaria," explains Professor Lenzen. It would also help limit biodiversity loss and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

What is bought here hurts at the other end of the world

The researchers examined the connection between the increasing risk of malaria in developing countries and products that are in demand from distant consumers. "We achieved this by first connecting the malaria incidence to deforestation, then to the production of primary raw materials, which we then connected to the global supply chain networks and ultimately to global consumer demand," explains Dr. Malik.

"This work goes beyond simple incidence mapping and correlations as it reveals a global supply chain network that connects malaria that occurs in certain locations due to deforestation with globally dispersed consumption," said Malik.

Control of malaria through supply chain regulation

Conversely, the study results could be used to develop demand-driven approaches to contain malaria by focusing on regulating the global supply chains affected by malaria.

Initiatives such as product labeling and certification and supply chain dialogue and green procurement standards have been proven to be successful in addressing global trade-related issues such as deforestation, species threats and child labor. Legal mechanisms in this area could also be a good measure to fight malaria.

Nevertheless, it is difficult to implement such measures across the board. In Brazil, for example, the agricultural industry has criticized environmental legislation, which obliges landowners to maintain part of their land with native vegetation. (vb)

Author and source information

This text corresponds to the requirements of the medical literature, medical guidelines and current studies and has been checked by medical doctors.

Graduate editor (FH) Volker Blasek

Swell:

  • Leonardo Suveges Moreira Chaves, Jacob Fry, Arunima Malik, and others: Global consumption and international trade in deforestation-associated commodities could influence malaria risk; in: Nature Communications, 2020, nature.com
  • University of Sydney: Is your coffee contributing to malaria risk? (published: 09.03.2020), eurekalert.org
  • WHO: Malaria (accessed: March 9, 2020), who.int


Video: Malaysian palm oil farmers struggle as demand, prices slump (May 2022).


Comments:

  1. Malakus

    Stupidly set off!

  2. Mezigrel

    IMHO the meaning is fully developed, the writer squeezed out everything he could, for which my bow to him!

  3. Mazukus

    Excellently)))))))

  4. Vishakar

    Could there be errors?



Write a message