أخبار

تسبب العزلة الاجتماعية المزيد من الاستشفاء لمشاكل في الجهاز التنفسي


كيف تؤثر العزلة الاجتماعية على أمراض الجهاز التنفسي؟

من خلال التهديد الذي يشكله COVID-19 بالتحديد ، تزيد المخاطر المرتبطة بالعزلة الاجتماعية. وجدت دراسة حديثة أن العزلة الاجتماعية ترتبط بزيادة خطر دخول كبار السن إلى المستشفى بسبب مشاكل في الجهاز التنفسي.

وجدت أحدث أبحاث جامعة كلية لندن أن العزلة الاجتماعية لدى كبار السن ترتبط بزيادة خطر دخول المستشفى بسبب مشاكل في الجهاز التنفسي. تم نشر نتائج الدراسة في مجلة اللغة الإنجليزية "BMJ: Thorax".

العزلة تؤثر على نفسنا

في وقت الإصابة بالفيروس التاجي ، نحن مجبرون جميعًا على عزل أنفسنا اجتماعيًا لحماية أنفسنا وغيرهم من مرض COVID-19. يمكن أن يكون للعزلة الاجتماعية آثار سلبية على نفسية الإنسان ، والتي ربما يكون العديد من الناس على دراية بها بالفعل.

هل تؤدي العزلة إلى أمراض الجهاز التنفسي؟

لقد وجد الآن أن كبار السن قد يكونون في خطر متزايد من دخول المستشفى بسبب مشاكل في الجهاز التنفسي بسبب العزلة الاجتماعية. هذا الخطر مستقل عن العوامل الأخرى المؤثرة المحتملة ، مثل الصحة العامة وأسلوب الحياة.

مشاكل في المستشفى بسبب مشاكل في الجهاز التنفسي

بشكل عام ، تلعب حالات دخول المستشفيات لأمراض الجهاز التنفسي دورًا مهمًا في الأزمات بسبب نقص الأسرة في فصل الشتاء والاكتظاظ في غرفة الطوارئ. في فترة COVID-19 ، يمكن أن تكون حالات دخول المستشفيات هذه مشكلة بشكل خاص وتعرض كبار السن للخطر.

زيادة هائلة في دخول المستشفيات لمشاكل الجهاز التنفسي

ازدادت المستشفيات بسبب مشاكل في التنفس أسرع ثلاث مرات في المملكة المتحدة في السنوات الأخيرة من الاستشفاء لأي سبب آخر. وذكر الباحثون أن مثل هذه الاعترافات تؤثر بشكل غير متناسب على المحرومين اجتماعيا في المجتمع ، بما في ذلك كبار السن.

دخول المستشفى للعزل

ترتبط العزلة الاجتماعية والوحدة مع دخول المستشفيات في ظروف صحية مختلفة ، ولكن لم يتضح حتى الآن ما إذا كان البالغون المعزولون اجتماعيًا المصابون بأمراض الجهاز التنفسي قد يكونون أيضًا معرضين للخطر. للتحقيق في هذا الخطر عن كثب ، قام الباحثون بتحليل سجلات المستشفيات وإحصاءات الوفيات من 4478 شخصًا شاركوا في دراسة اللغة الإنجليزية الطولية للشيخوخة (ELSA) ، وهي دراسة طويلة الأجل تمثيلية على المستوى الوطني لكبار السن.

كيف تم قياس مستوى العزلة الاجتماعية؟

تم قياس العزلة الاجتماعية في دراسة ما إذا كان الشخص يعيش بمفرده أم لا (العزلة المنزلية) ، ومقدار التواصل الاجتماعي الذي كان لديهم مع الأصدقاء والعائلة (العزلة الاجتماعية) ، ومقدار المشاركة الاجتماعية ، بما في ذلك العمل التطوعي والأنشطة الثقافية والمشاركة في مجموعات المجتمع. تم تصنيف الوحدة بعد ذلك على مقياس مصدق (UCLA).

ما العوامل التي تم اعتبارها أيضًا؟

كما تم جمع معلومات حول العوامل المؤثرة المحتملة. وشملت هذه ، على سبيل المثال ، الجنس ، والعرق ، والتعليم ، ودخل الأسرة ، والظروف الصحية الأساسية ، بما في ذلك مرض الانسداد الرئوي الانسدادي الرئوي المزمن) ، ونمط الحياة ، والتدخين ، والنشاط البدني.

تم رصد المشاركين لمدة 9.5 سنوات في المتوسط

تمت مراقبة الحالة الصحية للمشاركين طبيًا حتى يناير 2018 أو حتى الوفاة. كان متوسط ​​فترة المراقبة 9.5 سنوات. تم إدخال حوالي واحد من كل عشرة (11 في المائة) من المشاركين في المستشفى بسبب مشاكل في الجهاز التنفسي.

ما الذي وجد؟

بعد النظر في العوامل المؤثرة المحتملة ، لم ترتبط الوحدة ومستوى التواصل الاجتماعي مع الأصدقاء والعائلة بزيادة خطر القبول. ومع ذلك ، عندما عاش الناس بمفردهم أو أظهروا التزامًا اجتماعيًا ضئيلًا ، ارتبط ذلك بزيادة خطر بنسبة 32 في المائة و 24 في المائة على التوالي.

النتائج مدعومة بدراسات أخرى

على الرغم من أنها مجرد دراسة قائمة على الملاحظة ، إلا أن الباحثين يشيرون إلى أن نتائجهم متسقة مع نتائج الدراسات المنشورة الأخرى التي تربط بين العزلة الاجتماعية والوحدة مع الصحة السيئة.

هل الناس المعزولين اجتماعيا يدخنون أكثر؟

لتوضيح العلاقات التي توصلوا إليها ، تقترح مجموعة البحث أن الأشخاص المعزولين اجتماعيًا هم غير نشطين جسديًا ويدخنون أكثر. يبدو أيضًا أنه من غير المرجح أن يرى الأشخاص الطبيب في المرة الأولى التي يعانون من الأعراض. قد يميل الأطباء أيضًا إلى قبول هؤلاء الأشخاص في المستشفى بسبب زيادة خطر الوقوع بين الأشخاص العازبين.

يصف الأنشطة الاجتماعية؟

يمكن أن يستفيد كبار السن الذين يعيشون بمفردهم مع أمراض الرئة الحالية من دعم مجتمعي إضافي مستهدف. يمكن أن تكون هذه محاولة للحد من دخول المستشفى. وأوضح الباحثون أن إدخال برامج الوصفات الاجتماعية يمكن أن يوفر فرصًا لتحفيز هؤلاء الأشخاص على الانخراط في الأنشطة الاجتماعية في المجتمع. (مثل)

معلومات المؤلف والمصدر

يتوافق هذا النص مع مواصفات الأدبيات الطبية والمبادئ التوجيهية الطبية والدراسات الحالية وقد تم فحصها من قبل الأطباء.

تضخم:

  • Feifei Bu ، Keir Philip ، Daisy Fancourt: العزلة الاجتماعية والوحدة كعوامل خطر لدخول المستشفى لأمراض الجهاز التنفسي بين كبار السن ، في BMJ: Thorax (تم نشره في 21 أبريل 2020) ، Thorax


فيديو: العدسة. الوحدة والعزلة الاجتماعية. تأثير قاتل على النفس (ديسمبر 2021).

News

Social isolation causes more hospitalizations for respiratory problems


How does social isolation affect respiratory diseases?

It is precisely through the threat posed by COVID-19 that the risks associated with social isolation increase. A recent study found that social isolation is associated with an increased risk of hospitalization for older adults due to respiratory problems.

University College London's latest research found that social isolation in older adults is associated with an increased risk of hospitalization for respiratory problems. The results of the study were published in the English language journal "BMJ: Thorax".

Isolation affects our psyche

At the time of the coronavirus, we are all forced to isolate ourselves socially to protect ourselves and other people from COVID-19 disease. Social isolation can have negative effects on the human psyche, which many people are probably already familiar with.

Does isolation lead to respiratory diseases?

It has now been found that older people may be at increased risk of hospitalization for respiratory problems due to social isolation. This risk is independent of other potentially influential factors, such as general health and lifestyle.

Problems with hospitalization due to respiratory problems

Hospital admissions for respiratory diseases generally play an important role in crises due to lack of beds in winter and overcrowding in the emergency room. In the period of COVID-19, these hospital admissions could be particularly problematic and put older people at additional risk.

Huge increase in hospital admissions for respiratory problems

Hospitalization for respiratory problems has increased three times faster in the UK in recent years than hospitalization for any other reason. Such admissions disproportionately affect the socially disadvantaged in society, including older adults, the researchers report.

Hospitalization for isolation

Social isolation and loneliness are associated with hospitalizations in various health conditions, but it has not been clear until now whether socially isolated adults with respiratory diseases could also be at risk. To investigate this risk more closely, the researchers analyzed hospital records and death statistics from 4,478 people who participated in the English Longitudinal Study on Aging (ELSA), a nationally representative long-term study of older adults.

How was the level of social isolation measured?

Social isolation was measured in the study of whether a person lived alone or not (domestic isolation), how much social contact they had with friends and family (social isolation), and how much social engagement they had, including volunteer work, cultural activities and engagement in community groups. The loneliness was then rated on a validated (UCLA) scale.

What factors were also considered?

Information about potentially influential factors was also collected. These included gender, ethnicity, education, household income, basic health conditions, including undiagnosed COPD (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease), lifestyle, smoking and physical activity.

Participants were monitored for an average of 9.5 years

The health status of the participants was medically monitored until January 2018 or until death. The average monitoring period was 9.5 years. Around one in ten (11 percent) of the participants were hospitalized for respiratory problems.

What was found?

After considering potentially influential factors, loneliness and the level of social contact with friends and family were not associated with an increased risk of admission. However, when people lived alone or showed little social commitment, this was associated with an increased risk of 32 percent and 24 percent, respectively.

Results are supported by other studies

Although it is only an observational study, the researchers point out that their results are consistent with those of other published studies that associate social isolation and loneliness with poorer health.

Do socially isolated people smoke more?

To explain the relationships they found, the research group suggests that people who are socially isolated are physically inactive and smoke more. It also seems less likely that people will see a doctor the first time they experience symptoms. Physicians may also be more inclined to admit such people to a hospital because of the increased risk of falling among single people.

Prescribe social activities?

Older adults living alone with existing lung diseases could benefit from additional targeted community support. This can be an attempt to reduce hospital admissions. The introduction of social prescription programs can offer opportunities to motivate these people to engage in social activities in the community, the researchers explain. (as)

Author and source information

This text corresponds to the specifications of the medical literature, medical guidelines and current studies and has been checked by medical doctors.

Swell:

  • Feifei Bu, Keir Philip, Daisy Fancourt: Social isolation and loneliness as risk factors for hospital admissions for respiratory disease among older adults, in BMJ: Thorax (published April 21, 2020), Thorax


Video: What to do if you have symptoms of coronavirus COVID-19, or were exposed to someone who has COVID19. (January 2022).