أخبار

السالمونيلا في السلطة - غسل المستحيل


كيف تدخل مسببات الأمراض إلى السلطة

على الرغم من جميع تدابير النظافة ، لا تزال العدوى الغذائية منتشرة للغاية. تدخل مسببات الأمراض إلى جسم الإنسان من خلال الأطعمة مثل الخضار النيئة والدواجن ولحم البقر وغيرها من الأطعمة. بالنسبة للخضروات النيئة والخس ، يعد الغسيل الشامل شرطًا أساسيًا للاستهلاك. ومع ذلك ، أظهرت دراسة حديثة أن مسببات الأمراض يمكن أن تخترق الخس وبالتالي لا يمكن غسلها.

أفاد فريق بحثي من جامعة ديلاوير أن البكتيريا مثل السالمونيلا والليستيريا والإشريكية القولونية تدخل الجسم البشري بالطعام وتسبب الملايين من الأمراض المنقولة بالغذاء كل عام. وجد العلماء الآن أن السالمونيلا يمكن أن تخترق أوراق الخس من خلال مسام الهواء الصغيرة ثم تستقر داخل النبات. لذلك يكاد يكون من المستحيل غسلها قبل تناول الطعام.

تجاوز الدفاع المناعي لنباتات الخس

في دراستهم الحالية ، قام فريق البحث بقيادة Harsh Bais و Kali Kniel من جامعة Delaware بفحص ما إذا كان السالمونيلا يمكن أن يخترق نبات وكيف. تظهر نتائج الدراسة المنشورة في المجلة المتخصصة "فرونتيرز في ميكروبيولوجي" أن سلالات السالمونيلا البرية تتخطى الدفاع المناعي لنبات الخس ويمكن أن تدخل إلى النباتات عبر مسام الهواء الدقيقة للنبات ، ما يسمى الثغور.

ما هي فتحة الفجوة؟

وأوضح الباحثون أن الثغور عبارة عن فتحات صغيرة على الأوراق تفتح وتغلق بشكل طبيعي وتنظمها الإيقاع اليومي. يستخدم فتح النبات للتبريد والتنفس. يواصل فريق البحث إغلاق الثغور عندما تكتشف النباتات التهديدات من الجفاف أو مسببات الأمراض البكتيرية للنبات.

لكن بايس يشرح أن بعض مسببات الأمراض يمكن أن تستخدم القوة الخام لاختراق فغرة مغلقة. على سبيل المثال ، بعض أنواع الفطر قادرة على القيام بذلك. ومع ذلك ، لا تحتوي البكتيريا على الإنزيمات اللازمة لذلك. ومع ذلك ، من المعروف أن بعض "مسببات الأمراض البكتيرية النباتية وجدت طريقة لإعادة فتح الثغور المغلقة واختراق الجزء الداخلي من النبات" ، قال الخبير.

السالمونيلا تمر عبر الثغور

في الدراسة الجديدة ، ثبت الآن أن بعض سلالات السالمونيلا الممرضة للإنسان وجدت أيضًا طريقة لإعادة فتح الثغور المغلقة. يشدد بايس على أنه اكتشاف مثير للاهتمام "كيف تتطور البكتيريا غير المضيفة لتجاوز الاستجابة المناعية للنبات".

الممرض في النبات

يوضح هذا أيضًا المخاطر التي يمكن أن يشكلها التلوث قبل الحصاد. وبينما تنبع المخاطر بعد الحصاد من ممارسات النظافة في التصنيع والتوزيع ، فإن هذه مسببات الأمراض موجودة بالفعل في النبات أثناء الحصاد.

التطهير والتنظيف ليس لهما تأثير

يؤكد الباحثون أيضًا على أن العلاج بالماء ومطهر خاص ، وإذا لزم الأمر ، علاج الأوزون أو الأشعة فوق البنفسجية ، والذي يمكن من خلاله قتل البكتيريا بشكل موثوق نسبيًا ، لا يساعد ضد مسببات الأمراض البشرية التي اخترقت الورقة بالفعل.

مخاطر الري؟

علاوة على ذلك ، قام فريق البحث في السابق بالتحقيق في احتمال تلوث النباتات بطرق الري بالتعاون مع باحثين من وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية وجامعة ماريلاند. على سبيل المثال ، غالبًا ما يتم استرداد جزء من الماء بعد استخدامه بالفعل لغسل النباتات المقطوعة. هذا يمكن أن يكون مشكلة. تقرير الباحثين مثل الري من المجاري المائية والبرك.

يقول كالي كيليل: "لقد ثبت أن الماء (...) يشكل خطرًا محتملاً للتلوث". هذه النتيجة مهمة لأن السؤال الآن هو كيف يمكن تحقيق أن الري يتم دائمًا بمياه مثالية ميكروبيولوجيًا. وفقًا للباحثين ، هناك مخاطر أخرى لاختراق مسببات الأمراض في النباتات ، على سبيل المثال ، النباتات التي تم تربيتها خصيصًا لزيادة الغلة ، والتي غالبًا ما تكون على حساب أنظمة الدفاع الخاصة بها. وهناك أيضًا إمكانية التلوث إذا كانت النباتات قريبة جدًا من المراعي.

تنشأ المخاطر أيضًا قبل الحصاد

في ضوء النتائج الجديدة ، يتضح أنه ليس فقط التلوث السطحي للنباتات مع المحفزات المحتملة لعدوى الغذاء يشكل خطرًا ، ولكن هناك أيضًا مخاطر قبل الحصاد. قد لا يمكن إزالة الإجهاد على النبات الذي ينشأ هنا بعد ذلك ، حتى بعد التنظيف الشامل. ومن المثير للقلق أيضًا أنه في الدراسة الحالية ، لم تظهر نباتات الخس أي علامات للمرض ولا تغيرات يمكن التعرف عليها خارجيًا عند تلوث السالمونيلا. (فب)

معلومات المؤلف والمصدر

هذا النص يتوافق مع متطلبات الأدب الطبي والمبادئ التوجيهية الطبية والدراسات الحالية وقد تم فحصه من قبل الأطباء.

السكرتير الجغرافي فابيان بيترز

تضخم:

  • جامعة ديلاوير: السالمونيلا المتسللة تجد مستترًا في النباتات (تم نشره في 30 يونيو 2020) ، eurekalert.org
  • نيكولاس جونسون ، Pushpinder K. Litt ، Kalmia E. Kniel ، Harsh Bais: تهرب من استجابة الدفاع الفطري للنبات بواسطة السالمونيلا على الخس ؛ في: Frontiers in Microbiology (نُشر في 3 أبريل 2020) ، frontiersin.org


فيديو: علاج الاسهال الابيض للدواجن السالمونيلا Salmonella (شهر اكتوبر 2021).

News

Salmonella in the salad - washing off impossible


How pathogens get into the salad

Despite all hygiene measures, food infections are still extremely widespread. The pathogens enter the human body through foods such as raw vegetables, poultry, beef and other foods. For raw vegetables and lettuce, thorough washing is therefore a prerequisite for consumption. However, a recent study shows that the pathogens can also penetrate the lettuce and are therefore not washable.

Bacteria such as salmonella, listeria and E. coli enter the human body with food and cause millions of food-borne diseases every year, reports a research team from the University of Delaware. The scientists have now found that salmonella can penetrate lettuce leaves through the tiny air pores and then settle inside the plant. So it is almost impossible to wash them off before eating.

Immune defense of the lettuce plants bypassed

In their current study, the research team led by Harsh Bais and Kali Kniel from the University of Delaware examined whether and how salmonella can penetrate a plant. The study results published in the specialist journal "Frontiers in Microbiology" show that wild salmonella strains bypass the immune defense of a lettuce plant and can get into the plants via the plant's tiny air pores, the so-called stomata.

What is the gap opening?

The stomata are small openings on the leaves that open and close naturally and are regulated by the circadian rhythm, the researchers explain. The opening of the plant is used for cooling and breathing. The research team continues to close the stomata when the plants detect threats from drought or plant bacterial pathogens.

But some pathogens can use raw force to penetrate a closed stoma, explains Bais. For example, certain mushrooms are able to do this. However, bacteria do not have the enzymes necessary for this. However, it is known that some "plant bacterial pathogens have found a way to reopen these closed stomata and to penetrate the inside of the plant," said the expert.

Salmonella get through the stomata

In the new study, it has now been proven that some strains of human pathogenic Salmonella have also found a way to reopen a closed stomata. It is an interesting discovery "how the non-host bacteria develop to bypass the plant's immune response," emphasizes Bais.

Pathogen in the plant

This also illustrates the dangers that contamination can pose before harvesting. And while the risks after the harvest tend to stem from the hygiene practices in processing and distribution, these pathogens are already in the plant during the harvest.

Disinfection and cleaning have no effect

The researchers also emphasize that treatment with water and a special disinfectant and, if necessary, ozone or ultraviolet treatment, with which surface bacteria can be killed relatively reliably, do not help against human pathogens that have already penetrated the leaf.

Irrigation risks?

Furthermore, the research team had previously investigated possible contamination of plants by irrigation methods in collaboration with researchers from the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the University of Maryland. For example, part of the water is often recovered after it has already been used to wash harvested plants. This could be a problem. The researchers report just like irrigation from watercourses and ponds.

"It has been shown that water (...) poses a potential risk of contamination," says Kali Kniel. This finding is important because the question now is how can it be achieved that irrigation is always carried out with microbiologically perfect water. According to the researchers, further risks for the penetration of human pathogens into the plants include plants that have been specially bred to increase the yield, which often comes at the expense of their own defense systems. And there is also the possibility of contamination if plants are too close to a pasture.

Risks also arise before the harvest

In view of the new findings, it becomes clear that not only the superficial contamination of the plants with possible triggers of a food infection pose a risk, but that there are also risks before the harvest. Stresses on the plant that arise here may not be able to be removed afterwards, even after thorough cleaning. It is also worrying that in the current study the lettuce plants showed no signs of disease and no externally recognizable changes when contaminated with Salmonella. (fp)

Author and source information

This text corresponds to the specifications of the medical literature, medical guidelines and current studies and has been checked by medical doctors.

Dipl. Geogr. Fabian Peters

Swell:

  • University of Delaware: Sneaky salmonella finds a backdoor into plants (published June 30, 2020), eurekalert.org
  • Nicholas Johnson, Pushpinder K. Litt, Kalmia E. Kniel, Harsh Bais: Evasion of Plant Innate Defense Response by Salmonella on Lettuce; in: Frontiers in Microbiology (published April 3, 2020), frontiersin.org


Video: Bagged Salads and Salmonella - University of Leicester (May 2021).